Morton’s fork

This was the first one I came across that had an element of history in it.  Let me begin by explaining Morton’s fork.  Sir John Morton was a churchman who lived in the fifteenth century.  He served under four kings and managed to make himself useful to all.  His last king was Henry VII, who has come down to us with a reputation for parsimony and greed.  Morton was his Archbishop of Canterbury and also became a cardinal – a truly godly man (a bit of irony there).  When it came to squeezing taxes out of the people Morton developed this ruthless strategy: If the subject is seen to live frugally, tell him because he is clearly a money saver of great ability, he can afford to give generously to the King. If, however, the subject lives a life of great extravagance, tell him he, too, can afford to give largely, the proof of his opulence being evident in his expenditure.  In other words, you poor suckers can’t win, so shut up and pay up.

Which brings me to the prompt.Morton’s Fork//

If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why?

Easy enough to answer, which is why I spun it out with the foregoing.  I would choose to read others’ blogs and not write my own.  The reason is that when I am writing my own blogs I already know what it is I’m writing about and the only thing I get out of it is (maybe) a few plaudits.  When I read the blogs of others what I get is entertainment, information and sometimes a giggle.  I hardly ever laugh at my own jokes.

One thought on “Morton’s fork

Leave a Reply

