My adventure in traditional publishing – part 2

This will be short and sweet (bitter, actually.) It finally happened, almost two years after I had been notified by my agent that a publisher was willing to offer me a contract for not one, not two, but three books: the thrill of seeing my book in print, with a glossy cover. I have read a lot recently about self-published authors not getting an editor and allowing their books to be published with mistakes. The consensus appears to be that as long as the errors are few, they won’t interfere with the average reader’s enjoyment of the story. Does anyone think that errors do not occur in traditional publishing? Of course, they do. We’ve all seen them.

Mine was a horror, and not my fault. As I read it through, I realized that the end of one chapter, several sentences, had been missed off entirely so the chapter ended rather abruptly. It was there in the galleys, and could only have been an error by the printer. There was nothing to be done about it.

Fast forward to the following year and my second book came out. Shortly after this (looking back it seems like only a couple of weeks)  a call from my agent was how I learned that my publisher was selling out to another company and retaining only its distribution division. My contract was sold as part of the package but the new company wasn’t interested in me. In the same call my agent told me that she was going into furniture sales.

My burgeoning career was in the toilet. Back to square one after the merest sip from the cup of success. I was dismayed, discouraged, disheartened and disgusted. But I told myself that I had done what I set out to do. I had got not one but two books published. Thereafter, I gave up trying to get published and went on to do other things. But I never gave up writing. Now and then, whenever the mood took me I would write – not to any real purpose, just to get it out of my system. What I would give to have those years back. When I retired (and had got over my pique) I did try the traditional publishing route again, but without success.

And there the story might have ended if not for self-publishing. Yay! A happy ending.

2 thoughts on “My adventure in traditional publishing – part 2

  1. I’ve not had much luck with traditional publishing, either, except with my children’s books. Keep on keeping on – your passion for history is addictive and you have a gift for bringing inscrutable people to life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

