Some interesting people

220px-Kaiserin_Elisabeth_-_Franz_Xaver_Winterhalter,_1865

Here is the stunningly beautiful Elisabeth Empress of Austria, known as Sisi. I am currently working on a novel about her, which I hope to publish this summer. Not only is Sisi an interesting – and challenging – protagonist, but during my research I discovered a few other interesting people whose lives touched hers. I will introduce you to them in succeeding weeks.

First among them is her cousin Ludwig II, King of Bavaria, also known as the Swan King or the Mad King, with whom she had so much in common. Both were young people trapped in roles for which they were unsuited and unable to adapt. Then there are her father, quite a few of her siblings, the statesman Otto von Bismarck,  Count Andrassy, the man she loved, and others.

Presently I am travelling home from Mexico to Ontario (via Las Vegas). Once home I will begin.

Leave a Reply

