What do you write after ‘The End’?

Your finished book is now ready for publication. Yay! Heartfelt relief. Pride! Joy! A sense of accomplishment! But don’t stop there. Your readers have finished your book. Presumably, they have enjoyed it. You’ve got their attention. Don’t relinquish it yet.
How about a note from the author telling your readers something about the book that you can’t include in the narrative, such as a brief bibliography, what inspired you to write it, anything of interest. In my case, I try to tell my readers what is not factual in my historical novels.
You might include a biography, a list of your other books. Tell them how they can contact you: Your email address, Twitter and Facebook accounts, Goodreads, all your social media.
Either here or at the front of the book, you can add any endorsements or reviews you’ve received.
Finally, if you have other books, generate a little interest by including a chapter or two. Ebook writers can even offer a snippet of their WIP. It can always be changed later if necessary.
These are the things I add at the end of my books. I don’t know if anyone reads them. I only know I read other authors’ back matter. Perhaps you can think of some other things to include. If so, let me know.

Leave a Reply

